Top 10 Under £10: Lipsticks

10-under-10-lipsticks

Looking through my make-up collection, I am definitely a high street/drugstore girl when it comes to beauty.

I like to splurge on designer and luxury products now and then (usually when I’m in the USA and find myself in Sephora for hours on end…) but here in the UK I find that there are so many great brands who have products on the market for budget prices that you can have your cake and eat it too!

I am going to do a series of ‘Ten under £10’ posts, starting with lipsticks.

10-under-10-lipsticks-1

#1 Rimmel Lasting Finish by Kate Moss Lipstick in ‘107′ – £5.49*

10-under-10-lipsticks-2This deep red (once applied on the lips it appears darker than swatch shown) is one of my favourites. It is incredibly pigmented and the colour lasts on the lip for quite some time – great for those who don’t have time to keep re-applying after every time you eat or drink (annoying, right?!) After a few hours I do notice that the colour does fade slightly and leaves a lip liner effect, but this happens with many lipsticks I have tried – and for £5.49, you can’t expect it to work miracles.

Initially I was quite wary of how it would look on me as I have pale skin, but I have found that it suits most if not all skin tones and also makes your teeth look shades whiter. I feel glamorous when I wear this lipstick, and once I’ve pair it with a black winged eyeliner I’m all good to go!

#2 Revlon Colorstay Ultimate Suede Lipstick in Trendsetter – £8.99*

10-under-10-lipsticks-3

When these first came into the shops I made sure I was one of the first to pick them up – the velvety formula with moisturising shea butter and aloe won me over immediately. With 20 shades available, there is a colour for everyone – pinks, reds, neutrals, you name it – they’ve got it. This was the first Revlon purchase I had made in a very long time, so I was pleasantly surprised with the quality for the price paid. The coverage is quite sheer to begin with, but I have found you can build the colour with a few applications.

Revlon and I may have started a bit of a love affair.

#3 Avon Perfect Kiss Lipstick in ‘Smitten Red‘ – £8.50*

10-under-10-lipsticks-4

This was a freebie from Marie Claire magazine a couple of months ago, and boy did I luck in with this gem of a lipstick. I have grown up reading the Avon catalogue, going to a few Avon ‘parties’ and ordering products I never needed but lusted after, but over the past few years it hasn’t been a brand on my list of purchases. After wearing this lipstick however, I am adamant this will change. This pretty shade of red is so wearable and great for those who perhaps are a bit scared to try the daring ‘red lip’ – go on try it, I dare you. The packaging is glamorous and I love the Avon imprint on the lipstick too – a subtle touch that makes it seem much more expensive.

#4 Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquer in ‘Apocaliptic’ – £5.99*

10-under-10-lipsticks-5

These glossy lip lacquers are so ridiculously pigmented that it looks like the colour has just exploded onto your lips. Okay, so a bit of an exaggeration, but the formula is nothing far from amazing. Rimmel is one of my favourite brands, the go-to brand I can trust and find whatever it is I am looking for in a product, and was excited to try this when it came out earlier this year. The colour range isn’t the best, but the shades are wearable for most skin tones. I always feel quite brave when I first apply it as this is quite a bright fuchsia pink, but compliments are guaranteed. 

#5 Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter in ‘Raspberry Pie‘ – £7.99*

10-under-10-lipsticks-6

So the love affair with Revlon continues. These lip butters are really pigmented, and last on the lips for quite some time – a must-have for most lipstick lovers, right? I have a wish list as long as my arm when it comes to lip products and these ones in particular are amongst that list, with its glossy application and colour longevity, it’s hard not to love this product. My only negative review is that it is prone to melting in warm weather – as you can see in the photo above – and now I have to physically push the lipstick down as opposed to twisting it down, not ideal…

#6 Clinique Chubby Stick Intense in ‘Plushest Punch‘ – £17.00*

10-under-10-lipsticks-7

Okay so I may have snuck this bad boy in, but I can explain I promise. It retails in the UK for approximately £17.00, but in Sephora it sells at $16.00 which I have converted into pounds – £10.29! Tiny bit over but well worth it, trust me. I found out about these chubby sticks initially from Tanya Burr, who raved about the coral shade ‘Heftiest Hibiscus’ in her YouTube beauty videos, and whilst I used to be a bit scared to try the orange shades I thought the raspberry pink colour would be perfect. It’s moisturising formula and creamy texture is perfect, and the fact it’s basically a giant lip crayon makes it so much more fun to apply. Clinique is a trustworthy brand and I have grown up with my Mother idolizing their products so I knew I was purchasing something that was worth the price tag.

#7 Marks and Spencer Limited Collection Lipstick in ‘Petal Pink’ – £5.00

10-under-10-lipsticks-8

This is probably my favourite lipstick I own, and I can’t recommend it enough. M&S may not be as well known for its beauty as other brands, but with a fantastic range of quality products and great price tags, you will be pleasantly surprised by what you find. This pretty fuchsia is my perfect shade of pink and my go-to colour if I’m in a pickle of what lipstick to wear. The packaging is clear and simple and the range of colours is fab – although I’d like to see more vibrant reds… The longevity is good too, and for the price – I usually like to pick up a couple at a time 😉

#8 Rimmel Lasting Finish by Kate Moss Lipstick in ’20’ – £5.49*

10-under-10-lipsticks-9

This bright, Barbie pink shade is one for the brave. It’s a lot more wearable than you may think though – apply with a lip brush and you can get a subtle bright pink colour – or go full steam ahead and apply the stick onto your lips and enjoy a vibrant shade of pink. I like to wear this with a feminine black winged eyeliner, mascara and a rosy blush, Emma Stone wears this perfectly here:

10-under-10-lipsticks-emmastoneImage

#9 Bourjois Color Boost Lip Crayon in ‘Peach on the Beach’ – £7.99*

10-under-10-lipsticks-10

So as I was saying earlier about being scared of orange toned lipsticks, here we are with a peachy coral coloured lip crayon – Bourjois have sold it to me. This pretty beach shade is perfect for Summer, and on trend with this season’s fashion and beauty, very versatile and I’m sure it’s the most popular shade. All four shades are great, and with names like ‘Peach on the Beach’, ‘Red Sunrise’, ‘Fuchsia Libre’ and ‘Orange Punch’, what’s not to like? The only bad point I have is that there aren’t enough shades – hopefully they will bring out more now they know how popular they are!

#10 Natural Collection in ‘Rose Petal’ – £1.99*

10-under-10-lipsticks-11

Now I’ve conquered my fear of orange toned lipsticks I can’t seem to get enough! This Natural Collection purchase was on a whim, I had literally popped into Boots for one thing and passed the beauty counters, swatched a few lip colours and went on my way to pay with 3 items from this brand. With the steep price tag of £1.99 (cheaper than a Starbucks!) I had no guilt in purchasing this, and have found it so versatile. Perfect in this Summer climate, this nude shade is great for daytime and paired with a clear gloss on top it looks really pretty.

*Prices may vary depending on where you purchase it.

Have you tried any of these lipsticks? Is there one you would recommend that I’ve not mentioned?

Leave me comments below and I’ll reply to each one, as always 🙂

signage

Bloglovin’ | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube | Pinterest

Leave a Reply

