Max Factor Facefinity Foundation

IMG_2580

There was a 3 for 2 offer on in Boots and you know how it goes. I went in with no intention to buy anything. I was caught off guard – Max Factor had a 3 for 2 offer on.

It’s all about the base, about the base…

IMG_2578

I get jaded quite easily when it comes down to foundation. I obsess over one for the summer and then want a new one by Autumn, and this continues throughout the seasons. I had been switching between Rimmel’s Wake Me Up, L’oreal’s True Match and Revlon’s PhotoReady since September. I hadn’t read any reviews on these Max Factor foundations so it was something completely new and exciting to me, with no external influences.

The Max Factor Facefinity All Day Flawless 3-in-1 foundation is extremely long lasting thanks to it’s three elements – a primer to hold, concealer to correct and foundation to finish. It pretty much does all of these jobs in one bottle which saves so much time in my morning routine (especially if you’re not a morning person, like me), although I still pair it with my trusty Maybelline Eraser Eye concealer as unfortunately it doesn’t hide those dark circles. It also protects with an SPF of 20, an essential feature I factor in when purchasing a foundation. The glass bottle features a pump that enables you to twist and lock, ensuring no foundation leaks out when you’re not using it – you just need to remember to lock it…

The last time I raved about a foundation was last summer, where I had been enjoying Revlon’s PhotoReady foundation. This Max Factor face base is similar in texture but blends into the skin slightly better and is easier to wear daytime for a natural, fresh finish. It still gives full coverage but not in a cakey way, your skin still looks like skin but just a more flawless version of it. Despite it only being available in 9 shades compared to Revlon’s 12, I find the Max Factor tones match my skin better. I wear ‘Warm Almond 45’, the perfect shade if you’re between ‘porcelain’ and ‘natural’ skin types.

Buy this if you are looking for a high end high street foundation that is affordable (£11.99) and boasts great longevity.

photo 2

I’ve been on the hunt for a new face powder that has full coverage and can tackle redness and blemishes easily, ever since my Fresh cosmetics compact hit pan and hasn’t got much life left. I think I may have found the next best thing in this Max Factor product.

They claim that the Facefinity Compact is their longest lasting foundation, giving great coverage all day long. It has an SPF15 to protect your skin from sun damage, so if you pair this with their Facefinity All Day Flawless 3-in-1 you will gain extra protection. The smooth and powdery texture is easy to blend into the skin with no mess and is buildable for maximum coverage.

There is only three shades to choose from which is a negative for me, you either have to go paler or slightly darker which won’t necessarily match your skin tone. I went for ‘Porcelain which has a slight peach undertone to it, counteracting any dark circles underneath the eyes. I prefer to use it with a powder brush and lightly layer over my liquid Facefinity foundation, which helps reduce any redness for longer.

photo 1 (1)

photo 1

The smart gold packaging with a good sized mirror is a bonus, but for £10.99 I think it is slightly overpriced for what it claims to do and I wouldn’t choose it over their All Day Flawless 3-in-1. Perhaps if there were more shades to choose from I would wear it for what it’s meant to be used for, as opposed to just a powder.

photo 3 (1)

What is your favourite drug store foundation?

Tweet me @kcallen_xo and don’t forget to follow me over on Bloglovin’!

signage

Bloglovin’ | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube | Pinterest

5 thoughts on “Max Factor Facefinity Foundation

    • I’ve not tried that one! I don’t get on with Bourjois foundations that well (from the one I tried anyway), but I have heard good things about it. I might give it a try this Spring/Summer 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

